Veterans Memorial

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

Veterans MemorialThe 20th Century Veterans Memorial in the downtown Smyrna served as the backdrop for a gathering of press, local leadership and veterans for a meeting with Secretary of the Navy Gordon England, Senator Saxby Chambliss and Congressman Phil Gingrey on Friday, March 26, 2004. Pictured are from left to right: Mayor A. Max Bacon, Senator Chambliss, Secretary of the Navy Gordon England and Congressman Phil Gingrey. ecently, the site has been host to military promotion ceremonies.

The 20th Century Veterans Memorial is the designated site of a Memorial Day observance ceremony. The City of Smyrna thanks all who attend and contribute to this annual ceremony.

For directions to the Memorial, please use the address of 2800 King Street, Smyrna, GA 30080. More general directions are available here.

Inquiries regarding the Veterans Memorial brick pavers: Contact Number (770) 436-2501

Mailing Address for completed forms: Veterans Memorial Association of Smyrna, Georgia, Inc., P.O. Box  1226

Smyrna, Ga  30081 

The Atlanta Vietnam Veterans Business Association dedicated a memorial honoring Michael Robert Glenn (Specialist 4, United States Army, KIA 11 February 1970, Quang Ngai Province, Republic of South Vietnam) on Thursday, May 27 at 11:00 a.m. at the Village Green Circle, Smyrna, Georgia. The ceremony was sponsored by the Atlanta Vietnam Veterans Business Association. Find out more at

The Twentieth Century Veterans Memorial Park dedication ceremony took place at 11:00 a.m. on October 12, 2002 on the Village Green in Smyrna, Georgia.

Veterans Memorial Park dedication ceremonyThe Memorial was made possible by the efforts of the Veterans Memorial Association of Smyrna, Georgia, Inc. Officers at the time of the dedication were as follows: President - William J. Lnenicka, Vice President - William Brown, Secretary - Mary A. Richardson, Treasurer - Col. (Ret.) James R. Davis.

The Board of Directors at the time of dedication were as follows: William J. Lnenicka, William Brown, Kenneth Burke, J. Al Cochran, Arthur L. Crowe, Jr., Col. (Ret.) James R. Davis, Mary A. Richardson.

Representing the City of Smyrna at the dedication was Mayor A. Max Bacon and members of Council - Jack R. Cramer, James M. Hawkins, Wade S. Lnenicka, Ronald C. Newcomb, Melleny C. Pritchett, William H. Scoggins, Charles R. Wood.

The keynote speaker was General John N. Abrams, Commanding General, United States Army Training and Doctrine Command, Fort Monroe, Virginia. Also in attendance and part of the ceremony were (in order of appearance) the Joint Services Color Guard, the U.S. Army Ground Forces Band, the Reverend Steven Kimmel of the First Baptist Church of Smyrna, Parachute demonstration by Sergeant Matt Davidson of the 82nd Airborne Division, The Honorable Roy Barnes - Governor of the State of Georgia, Honor Guard from Fort McPherson, Ga., Staff Sergeant Eric Nelson (Taps), F/A 18 Hornet Flyover in Missing Man Formation (Strike Fighter Squadron 203, Naval Air Station, Atlanta), The Honorable Johnny Isakson - U.S. 6th District Congressman (State of Georgia), U.S. Senator Max Cleland, and the Reverend Pat Shannon of the First United Methodist Church of Smyrna.

  • Architects: Allen + LeBlanc
  • Contractors: Jerry L. Johnson & Associates